Facebook is introducing the possibility of mass editing or deleting old posts, which today we no longer want to share with the wide web.
An upcoming Facebook service that will make it easier for users to edit past content posted on their profile. The “Manage Activitiy” service will enable the simultaneous transfer of large quantities of publications to the personal archive or to the trash.
Facebook says it will provide the service to users of the facebook and facebook lite apps to get started, but they have not announced when exactly we can expect it. It is also not known whether they will include the option for all users at the same time or whether they will introduce it gradually and by individual regions. In the case of American technology companies, it often happens that innovations are first introduced in major or test markets, while in smaller markets we often have to wait for the arrival of innovations. For example, in the middle of last month, Google announced the possibility of transferring data from the music play application to yt music, and many of us are still waiting for this possibility.
Move to personal archive or delete completely
As can be seen from Facebook’s display of how the app works, a bar for editing history on its own timeline will appear on the user’s profile page in the app, somewhere below the “add story” option. It’s supposed to be a gray box called “Manage Your Posts With Archive.” There, the user must then click on “Go to Activity Log”. Several options will appear on the new page, and you will need to click on “Manage Activity” and then “Your Posts” to edit. At the destination, you will finally be able to choose from several filters to help you find past posts. Although the instructions may seem complicated, this time, unlike some other Facebook privacy services, in practice the matter is quite transparent and intuitive.
With the help of post filtering, it will be possible to quickly find and remove posts or photos with individual marked people or in a certain period of time.
You will have two options for unwanted posts. You will be able to withdraw them to the archive. This will not delete the content, but will only be visible to you. So it’s about being able to store memories that you no longer want to share with the wide web.
Another option is complete deletion. This will take place in two steps. Posts thrown in the trash will wait in the trash for 30 days if you change your mind. They will be automatically deleted after the deadline. If you do not want to wait 30 days, it will be possible to delete posts manually immediately upon arrival in the trash. Similar to email.
Combat the outflow of users by deleting content?
Facebook has embarked on the possibility of more extensive editing of personal histories on Facebook, as many users have been complaining for many years that their history from their teenage and study years on the network follows them into professional as well as private adult or parental life. There are also practices that people destroy old profiles and open new, immaculate ones before looking for jobs. However, some simply leave the network when deleting profiles.
Desires to delete old posts or posts that have not aged the best also appear on Twitter. This social network does not have an official tool for mass editing of old posts, but there are tools from other manufacturers for this task. However, we will address this more extensively on another occasion.